Montgomery County is governed by a board consisting of 14 persons, two elected from each of seven districts.

All board members are assigned to committees by the board chairman. The committees oversee the work of various county offices and do "homework" of research and study prior to presentation of business before the board. For a list of committees and assignments, click here and for regular meeting times, click here.

The county board meets in the board room (second floor) of the Historic Courthouse located at 1 Courthouse Square in Hillsboro, Illinois at 5:30 p.m. on the second Tuesday of the month except in rare circumstances.

The members from each of the seven districts are listed here. To determine which members represent your area, the districts are defined by townships and voting precincts located here.

Members who drew two-year terms are noted in each district. Members without the two-year designation will serve four-year terms.